2006 FIA Junior World Rally Championship
Round 1 Swedish Rally (3 - 5 February)
Sunday 5 February 2006 - Leg 3
LEG 3 Information
Stages : 6 (3 repeated)
Surface : Compact snow and ice
Weather : Cold temperatures in the region of -9ºc, with bright sunshine.

Suzuki summary:
Suzuki Swift driver P-G Andersson has won his class on the Swedish Rally for the second consecutive year, setting 11 fastest stage times out of a total 19. Estonian Urmo Aava made it two Swifts on the podium with a well-deserved third place. In total, a Suzuki won every stage apart from one. Guy Wilks had an unlucky rally after a driveshaft problem and an off-road excursion cost him 20 minutes on day two. Nonetheless, the Englishman finished the rally and set two fastest stage times.

Guy Wilks

News from the leading Suzuki driver:
P-G Andersson (1st in JWRC): Its a fantastic feeling to win my home rally and start off this years Championship in the best possible way! The car has been absolutely perfect throughout all three legs and the team is working better than ever. I felt confident enough to control my advantage and not push too hard today. Our next rally is Argentina, so Im going to be looking for another win there!

Other news from Suzuki:
Guy Wilks was relieved to reach the finish after coming within seconds of being classified too late to continue the rally following his problems on day two.

Urmo Aava was delighted with his first podium driving a Swift. Its a fantastic car, he said. Once I realised I could get a podium, I just drove carefully to the end!

News from “Monster” Tajima:
Congratulations to P-G for a fantastic performance where he led from start to finish. Seven Suzukis started the rally and seven have finished, proving the reliability and driveability of our cars. Congratulations also to Urmo, for an excellent podium. We all feel very sorry for Guy, but we have absolutely no doubt that he will be back!


Junior World Rally Championship final classification, Rally Sweden:

1 P-G Andersson (Suzuki Swift) 3h29m18.7s
2 Patrick Sandell (Renault Clio) +53.1s
3 Urmo Aava (Suzuki Swift) +2m55.1s
4 Pavel Valousek (Suzuki Swift) +6m42.3s
5 Kalle Pinomaki (Renault Clio) +8m05.8s
6 Jozef Beres (Suzuki Ignis) +14m17.8s
7 Peter Zachrisson (Suzuki Ignis) +21m05.9s
8 Michal Kosciuszko (Suzuki Ignis) +26m59.1s
9 Guy Wilks (Suzuki Swift) +32m00.8s

1 P-G Andersson 10, 2 Patrick Sandell 8, 3 Urmo Aava 6, 4 Pavel Valousek 5, 5 Kalle Pinomaki 4, 6 Jozef Beres 3, 7 Peter Zachrisson 2, 8 Michal Kosciuszko 1



>>FOR USE OF THIS WEB SITE The contents in this Homepage may be changed without notice.All rights are reserved by SUZUKI MOTOR CORPORATION.No one is allowed to make copies of, reproduce, change or modify any part or all the contents of this Homepage without expressed permission of SUZUKI MOTOR CORPORATION.